Saltandlight
Welcome to Salt and Light
Christian, Perfectionism..... Cooking?
0:00
-28:32

Christian, Perfectionism..... Cooking?

I am Christian and I love cooking and I struggle with perfectionism.

I love God and I love making things from scratch. Never said that I was good at it tho but I’ll let you guess :)

The Christian faith, the knowledge of God is like little water streams that flow through every crack and corner. God is seen EVERYWHERE.

Is it strange if I tell you that I learnt one or two things about God through cooking and baking? He’s omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscience so I’m not surprised.

Cooking/baking is working. Working is the highest honor that we can tribute to God. Why do I love cooking and baking? It boosts my confidence, competence. I always love working wih my hands. I love food. And it’s cheap lol. I’m in the kitchen like fish in the water. Annnnddd…… my ideal date would be hanging out in a foreign market.


FYI, anything can go wrong with cooking and especially with baking. Having an instruction doesn’t guarantee that you will succeed. You can over mix the dough, not use enough eggs (even though you did use 2 eggs like the recipe), you can accidentally grab the wrong measuring spoons…. Or you can suddenly forget what steps you’re at.

Cooking and baking can be an absolute nightmare because of the perfectionistic tendencies. Perfectionism has an unobtainable standard which stems from fear, insecurity, shame, guilt, and the desperate needs to be SAFE. Perfectionism and OCD are closely related. Unfortunately, only OCD is recognized as a mental illness. Not perfectionism. I can’t tell you how many times I have to fight the urger to quit out of frustration because of those reasons. My competence is attacked by simple and small things (measuring ingredients). It could be anything that interupts during the process (mood change, flashbacks, etc). It’s the domino effect.

But that’s why GRACE is so important. A healthy relationship requires GRACE, it is the safe space to make mistakes, the benefit of the doubt, the acceptance of the fact that we are flawed and sinful humans. From there to learn and to grow. When Abraham pleads with God from destroying the sinful city - Sodom, God was willing to let them go if he could find 10 righteous ones. The Grace of God is what changed sinners like me not punishment. It’s my suggestion for us today to be patient, full of grace with ourselves and others.

Thank you for reading
God Bless,
Linh

Leave a comment






0 Comments
Saltandlight
Welcome to Salt and Light
Hi friends,
Welcome to my first eposide of Salt and Light. It's lovely to have you here. This is a quick self introduction and mic testing. If you have any suggestions or advice of what I can improve, let me know :). All opinions are welcome as long as they civil.
God bless.